skin, aesthetic & rhInoplasty centre

Anatomy of the Skin

Skin, the largest organ which serves as a protective barrier to other organs and parts of a human body. Weighing 8 pounds on an average human and composed of a complex system of cell layers, nerves and glands.

Skin is composed of three layers, the epidermis, the dermis and subcutaneous tissue.


“Epi” meaning “over” or “upon” and “dermis” which means “skin”. The outermost layer of the skin is the epidermis. It contains 5 layers namely: stratum basale, stratum spinosum, stratum granulosum, stratum licidum and stratum corneum.


The inner and thick layer below the epidermis that forms the true skin. It contains nerve endings, sweat and sebaceous glands and blood and lymph vessels.


The layer beneath the skin also called as hypodermis. The lowermost layer of the skin consists of different types of cells fibroblasts, adipose cells and macrophages. This layer of the skin is used mainly for fat storage.